Get Cozy with These Winter Recommendations from Union Ave. Books

Beartown by Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is the author of the wildly popular A Man Called Ove, and anyone who loved that book will love this. This book sets up a town and world that is populated by lovable characters who are obsessed with hockey. Beartown is the first in a series (there are currently two out) that tackles some pretty heavy topics with a deft hand and empathy. Highly recommended for all the Ove fans out there!

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novak

There is so much going on in this atmospheric and wonderful retelling of Rumpelstiltskin. This book follows several characters but centers around the stories of three women. One is a Jewish moneylender, one is an aristocrat sold into marriage, and the last is a servant. Here’s what you can look forward to: tough ladies getting stuff done, a world made of ice and snow, political intrigue, heart-warming family dynamics, social commentary and fierce female friendships. Novak was certainly influenced by more than just Rumpelstiltskin; the Brothers Grimm and their stories are woven throughout this novel. Spinning Silver is a perfect winter fairytale. 

Elmet by Fiona Mozley

Elmet is a hauntingly beautiful story about two teenagers and their father, who has decided to live a life off the grid. The setting is in the U.K., but it could easily be Appalachia. The characters are so well-developed, and the story is so compelling and wonderfully written that you’ll find yourself slowing down as you reach the end. This is Fiona Mozley’s debut novel, and it was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Perfect for fans of Ron Rash.